Select grade below


Monday, May 13, 2024 - 3:10 PM by Chris Pike

SOUTH Fremantle had to dig deep on Saturday at Sullivan Logistics Stadium and kicking the first two goals of the last quarter set up the seven-point win against Subiaco in honour of Cam McCarthy.

It was a challenging game to focus on for everyone at the Bulldogs following the tragic news on Friday of the passing of McCarthy who was a popular figure and a proud Bulldogs product and former player as recently as 2022.

With some heavy hearts, South Fremantle started the game strongly at Leederville to lead by 16 points at quarter-time and still by three at half-time, but Subiaco was up by two at three quarter-time.

However, the Bulldogs did kick the first two goals of the final term and that set up the 12.7 (79) to 10.12 (72) victory which means they have now won five in-a-row this season to be sitting in third position but only percentage off top spot.

Riley Colborne stepped up impressively with three goals for South Fremantle, all of which came in the first half, with Haiden Schloithe and Zac Strom showing their quality and experience with two goals apiece.

Reigning WJ Hughes Medal winner Tom Blechynden had another 27 possessions for the Bulldogs with Isiah Winder continuing his blistering form with another 27 disposals, 13 marks and a goal.

Schloithe also picked up 23 touches to go with his two goals while Roan O'Hehir had 23 possessions, Glenn Byron 20, Aaron Drage 20, Ashton Ferreira 17 and Lewis Rayson 17.

The South Fremantle back-line was outstanding once again with captain Chad Pearson leading the way and finishing with 25 possessions and 11 marks. Toby McQuilkin also had 13 touches and 10 marks, and Jordan Boullineau 10 disposals and four marks.

Subiaco did start well with an early goal to Jacob Evitt but South Fremantle responded courtesy of Haiden Schloithe before Riley Colborne added another stepping up as a target in attack in the absence of Dylan Main and with Noah Strom back in defence.

Former Bulldog Ben Sokol added another for Subiaco but then Ashton Ferreira, Isiah Winder, Zac Strom and Colborne again all kicked truly before quarter-time to give the Bulldogs the 16-point advantage by the end of one.

Subiaco did manage the first three goals of the second term but then South Fremantle kicked the last leading into the half-time break thanks to Colborne which ensured the Bulldogs were still clinging to the three-point advantage.

Subiaco briefly grabbed the lead at the start of the third quarter but South Fremantle hit back with goals to Aaron Drage and Matthew Parker. Another goal to Schloithe kept the Bulldogs in front and clinging to a two-point edge heading into three quarter-time.

With the game on the line, South Fremantle kicked the first two goals of the last term thanks to Zac Strom and Jaren Carr which was enough to secure the eventual seven-point victory to keep the winning run going.

The day's action at Sullivan Logistics Stadium on Saturday got underway in the morning with the reserves match up and that saw Subiaco beat South Fremantle 10.11 (71) to 8.8 (56).

Kaden Harbour and Liam Brandis kicked two goals each for the Bulldogs with George Wessels racking up 34 possessions, Robbie Turnbull 23, Jaxon Bellchambers 18, Jarrod Salmeri 18, Harbour 16, Toby Dodds 16 and Callum Copeland 16.

Then following the league game at Leederville on Saturday, the colts contest saw Subiaco defeat South Fremantle 16.10 (106) to 4.7 (31).

South Fremantle's goals were kicked by Zane Triscari, Mitchell Geier, Jay Elliott-Tideman and Latrell Yarran.

Tyler Rowe picked up 26 possessions for the Bulldogs, Geier 25, Millar Rank 19, Orlando Keleman 16, Rhyder James 13 and Sam Irving 13.

Zac Davidson also had 10 touches and 25 hit outs in the ruck.


SOUTH FREMANTLE                        6.2          7.2          10.3        12.7        (79)

SUBIACO                                             3.4          6.5          9.11        10.12     (72)

SOUTH FREMANTLE – Goals: Colborne 3; Schloithe, Z Strom 2; Ferreira, Winder, Drage, Parker, Carr.

Best: Schloithe, Winder, Pearson, Blechynden, McQuilkin, Boullineau, O'Hehir.

SUBIACO – Goals: Evitt 3; Robbins, Sokol 2; Savigni, Schofield, Faraone.

Best: L Hickmott, Clark, Robbins, Corbett, Evitt, Kitchin, Morgan.